Northeastern Kansas Beekeepers Association
Contact US by ​email:


Gayan Stanley
1988 E 1st Rd, Le Compton, KS  66050 

785.865.7315 (email

Rose Lee
1126 S 4th St, Atchison, KS 66002

913-367-6264   (email)

Al Abts
25206 Metro Ave, Tonganoxie, KS  66086  

913-369-9606   (email)

Kristi Sanderson
1252 E Frontier Ln, 66062 Olathe, KS  

913-768-4961 (email)

Cecil Sweeney
19201 S Clare, Spring Hill, KS 66083  

913-856-8356 (email)

Marlene Pantos & Alex Pantos

2920 Stubbs Rd, Tecumseh,KS 66542   785.633.6283  (email)     

Andy Nowachek 

10921 W 91st Terr, Overland Park, KS 66214 913.438.5397 (email)

Steve Tipton

9491 X Rd, Meriden, KS 66512 785.484.3710 (email)


The Northeastern Kansas Beekeepers Association (NEKBA) is a 501(c)(5) (tax-exempt, educational, agricultural) public charity based in Shawnee Mission, Kansas. You may review our letter of exemption from the IRS and verify our standing with IRS Publication 78, upon request. Our Constitution/by-Laws as well as annual financial reporting are available for review within this site (separate page). Also available are board meeting minutes, upon request.

NEKBA Officers and board members thoughout the years....

Historical list of officers from 1968 through 2019 (that's a list of 51 years of dedicated volunteers).  

On this page, you'll find a list of our current board members well as their contact information, and a list of our board-at-large. Officers and members are strictly volunteers for the promotion of beekeeping. 


Steve Messbarger 9802 S Burr  Oak CR, De Soto, KS 66018 913.226.2849 (email)

Sara Murry 20785 S Walker Rd., Spring Hill, KS 66083 913.530.2441 (email)

1st Vice President (Youth Scholarship)

Joli Winer 19201 S Clare Rd   Spring Hill, KS  66083  913.856.8356     (email)         (business website

2nd Vice President (Librarian)
Ed Darlington 2804 E 174th St., Belton, MO 64012 816.331.4934 (email)

3rd Vice President (Honey Plants Expert)

Cheryl Burkhead 4521 SE 61st St., Berryton, KS 66409 785-224-9077  (email)


Robert Burns 7601 W 54th Terr, Overland Park, KS  66202 913.481.3504 (email)   (hobby website)

Program Chairperson
Chad Gilliland  23338 Kissinger Rd, Leavenworth, KS 66028 785.491.1978 (email)


Matthew Merz 709 N Pine St., Olathe, KS 66061  785.230.1505     (email)         

Military/Veteran Chairman  

Andy Nowachek 10921 W 91st Terr, Overland Park, KS 66214  913.438.5397 (email)

Special Event Coordinator, Position #1 (New Beekeeper Class)
Becky Tipton 
9491 X Rd,  Meriden, KS 66512  785.484.3710 (email

​Special Events Coordinator, Position #2 (Bee FunDay) 
Jo Patrick
 611 E Sheridan St, Olathe, KS  66061 913.645.8497 (email)

Concessions Support (volunteer-appointed position)
Dixie Spurlin  24964 160th Ct Leavenworth, KS 66048  913.250.0149  (email)

Web Support (volunteer-appointed position)
Robert Burns
  7601 W 54th Terr, Overland Park, KS  66202  913.481.3504  (email)

NEKBA 2019 OFFICERS & support

Copyright © Northeastern Kansas Beekeepers Assn  |   Privacy Policy

Northeastern Kansas Beekeepers